Incident Report; ALICE by Mark Wilson

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I am truly honoured to have received an early copy of this book. I was intrigued from the outset with the synopsis;

“They thought that they had all the power, until she took it from them. Tequila Mockingbird hunts abusive spouses, blogging about their sins post-kill. Her killing streak, as well as her brazen journaling, draws the attention of Police Scotland’s CID.  Edinburgh’s DI Kathy McGuire, nearing the end of her career, begins the hunt for Tequila as a media frenzy erupts and the public debate her ‘crimes’.”

Based in Scotland, ALICE is an intensely-gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of GONE GIRL, THE GIRL IN THE ICE, and SLEEP TIGHT.

Alice AKA ’Tequila Mockingbird’ is a special breed of serial killer. Instead of targeting those at random to fulfil sexual gratification (as with most serial killer stories), she has her sights set on men who have histories of domestic violence. In short, Alice is dishing out her own form of justice.

This is bad news for DI Kathy McGuire and her team who are charged with bringing Alice in. We get an insight into Kathy’s personal life, both on the rise through the ranks within the Force, to her personal relationships with her husband and colleagues.

Tequila Mockingbird has no intention of getting herself arrested by the police. Her only focus is to continue her reign of justice – no matter the cost. Continuing to detail her kills though social media, she is soon thrust into the public arena, where everyone is soon quick to have an opinion.

This is a great read by Wilson! My only flaw with this story is that there isn’t more! ALICE certainly has all the makings of a great series, but also stands up as a standalone.

-S.

screen-shot-2016-12-20-at-11-27-23

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s