#ThursdayQuotable – The Mermaids Singing by @valmcdermid 23/02

book-quotables

THURSDAY QUOTABLES is a weekly book meme hosted by the lovely Book Shelf Fantasies

This weekly feature is the place to highlight a great quote, line or passage discovered during your reading each week. Whether it’s something funny, startling, gut-wrenching, or just beautifully written, THURSDAY QUOTABLES is where my favourite lines of the week will be…and you’re invited to join in.

Head over to Book Shelf Fantasies for further info on how to join in!

screen-shot-2017-02-23-at-6-26-04-am

THE MERMAIDS SINGING by Val McDermid (Harper Collins, 2015 – Original Publication 1995)

“He looked so vulnerable and fallible, his shoulders slumped, his head down, that Carol’s impulses overrode the decision she’d taken only minutes before to play it cool. She stepped forward and pulled Tony into a tight hug. ‘If anyone can do it, you can,’ she whispered against his chin like a cat marking its territory.”

What can I say?! For my first THURSDAY QUOTABLE – it HAD to be a quote from the book that really started it all for me; THE MERMAIDS SINGING by Val McDermid.

As a young person, I used to read a lot of Goosebumps, then progressed onto Point Crime and Point Horror. I’ve always been grateful that I was able to pick up reading very quickly at school. The downside to this is that by my teens, I was wanting something more advanced that I could really get my teeth into.

My Mum has always been an avid reader – predominantly Stephen King and Val McDermid. So when I asked if she could recommend me a book, based on what I had been reading previously – she handed me THE MERMAIDS SINGING. WOW! This book blew me away and also helped my hunger for more crime fiction. Was every book like this? I had to find out.

This book will always stick with me, and I will forever recommend this book.

Until next week, keep reading on.

-S.

One thought on “#ThursdayQuotable – The Mermaids Singing by @valmcdermid 23/02

Leave a Reply

