#Top5FemaleAuthors – Mary Shelley – #WomensHistoryMonth 13/03/2017

My favourite female authors is a growing list, as with each new addition to my bookshelves more and more authors are strong, talented women.

Narrowing down the list to just 5 is hard but I’ll begin to try.

1 – Mary Shelley

An old favourite of mine is the author of Frankenstein, a woman who came from a time when female authors were few and far between. When literature was a male dominated industry. Shelley was the daughter of a very forward woman, her mother was independent, a philosopher and pioneer for women. It only seems fitting that Shelley became famous in her own right. A friend of the devilish Lord Byron and John Polidori an author who also created a another favourite novel of mine.

Frankenstein was the first novel that I read where I felt the essence of a gothic novel, that highlighted the time of its composure. Shelley cleverly created a story that has had readers riveted for decades, with many adaptations over the years it is the original novel that still hits you.

The story for me highlighted that although the creature is seen as the monster, it is in fact Dr Frankenstein himself who is the monster. He created something, brought the creature to life from the deaths of others. Shelley has stayed with me through the years, the beautifully tragic tale shaping me as both a reader and a writer. The gothic essence is something that I’ve loved from a young age, that I embrace whole heartedly.

Shelley really was unique and so influential to the world of literature. To me.

*M*

17192420_1654440524572040_2495501288206829589_o

Leave a Reply

