#BookTag | #ThrowbackThursday 13/07/2017

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday is a weekly book meme created by the lovely Renee at It’s Book Talk.

“ItΒ began this Throwback Thursday meme as a way to share some of my old favorites as well as sharing books that I want to read that were published over a year ago. You know, the ones waiting patiently on my TBR list while I continue to pile more titles on top of them:)! I like that these older books are usually much easier than new releases to get a hold of at libraries and elsewhere.” (Credit; It’s Book Talk)

My pick for this week is a book I read back in 2015….

MISERY by Stephen King
Published; July 7th 2011, Hodder & Stoughton

9492488

“Misery Chastain was dead. Paul Sheldon had just killed her – with relief, with joy. Misery had made him rich; she was the heroine of a string of bestsellers. And now he wanted to get on to some real writing.

That’s when the car accident happened, and he woke up in pain in a strange bed. But it wasn’t the hospital. Annie Wilkes had pulled him from the wreck, brought him to her remote mountain home, splinted and set his mangled legs.

The good news was that Annie was a nurse and has pain-killing drugs. The bad news was that she was Paul’s Number One Fan. And when she found out what Paul had done to Misery, she didn’t like it. She didn’t like it at all.


MISERY is only the second Stephen King book I have read, but I’m already seeing a trend in his writing. It’s all about the suspense, leaving parts to your own imagination. This was an excellent read…not sure I’m ready to watch the movie.

UPDATE – I watched the movie and although I enjoyed it – it also upset me so much as there are key scenes written in the book which we were not played out how I imaged on the big screen. The hobbling scene for example!
Until next week – Happy Reading!

-S.

Leave a Reply

