#BlogTour| #BookReview | DIVINE POISON by A.B. Morgan @AliMorgan2304 (January 4th 2018, Bloodhound Books @Bloodhoundbook)

Welcome to my stop on this Blog Tour for the paperback edition release of DIVINE POISON by A.B. Morgan.

I would like to say that I am blown away to be invited onto this blog tour! Particular thanks to Sarah Hardy, Bloodhound Books and of course the A.B. Morgan who gifted me an early copy of DIVINE POISON. I am forever grateful and promise that the review below is 100% honest and of my own views.

AB Morgan - Divine Poison_cover_high res

To kick off, we have the “blurb” for the book;

Are you looking for a stunning new crime mystery full of suspense? Then you’ll love AB Morgan’s unmissable Divine Poison.

For a community psychiatric nurse, Monica Morris has an unhealthy interest in poison, and when, on impulse, she buys an antique Ship’s Doctor’s Cabinet with a set of leather-bound journals she becomes fascinated by the content.

A few days later, she discovers the body of her patient, Jan Collins, and although police assume suicide by overdose, Monica is not convinced.

When more unexplained deaths involving poisoning occur, Monica realises they are linked and so does DS Adams who is investigating. But how are they connected? And why?

When it becomes obvious that she’s unwittingly stepped into a trap set for someone else, Monica’s career, her own sanity and her life are placed at risk. But where can she turn to for help?

AB Morgan is the author of the acclaimed psychological thriller A Justifiable Madness. Divine Poison will appeal to fans of authors like LJ Ross, Joy Ellis, Faith Martin and Ed James

So, you want to know what I think?

The first thing that stood out for me with DIVINE POISON is a killing method I haven’t read much of…and that is poisoning. I’m sure there are plenty of crime novels out there that use poisoning as a method of killing/murder, but this is only the second book I have read which features this (the first being THE MAN WHO DIED)

DIVINE POISON does touch on some pretty senstive topics – especially in regards to the Catholic church which can make some uncomfortable reading. However this does contribute largely to the story and hasn’t been added for the sake of trying to shock the readers. It does the opposite.

What gave me the jeebies the most with this book is putting myself into the victims shoes. Poisoning can be a quiet crime in the regard that you never really know that it is happening. A poison can easily be dropped into food, a drink or even through water. This to me is what gave DIVINE POISON that edge.

If you are looking for a book with more twists and turns than a helter skelter than DIVINE POISON is definitely the book for you! Just when you think you have got it all sussed as to who is involved – Morgan is able to steer the reader in a completely different direction. This is evident in the ending where it is finally revealed who has been responsible for the deathe! DIVINE POISON is thrilling to read and a book to keep you on your toes!

About A.B. Morgan;

unnamed

Alison Morgan started writing a couple of years ago to address that niggling question: could she write a book? The answer was a simple yes. She’s had to retire from the NHS a little earlier than planned, but has discovered a new passion. Writing. Her debut novel, A Justifiable Madness, was published by Bloodhound Books in September 2017 attracting great reviews for its refreshing premise and dark humour. With two further novels being published at the beginning of 2018, it seems Alison has a promising future as an author. Divine Poison is the second novel to feature Monica Morris, a mental health nurse, as the main protagonist in this crime mystery, but there are no plans for a series. Alison’s third suspense novel, The Camera Lies, steps away from the field of nursing and into the world of real crime documentary films.

Alison lives with her husband Andy and their dog Sadie, in a small village north of Bedford. She’s not the type to let life get in the way of adventure and so, always up for the next challenge, she decided to have a proper midlife crisis and learn to ride a motorbike. In August she passed, first time. Her husband was impressed until she swung her leg over his prized Triumph and roared off with a big grin on her face. ‘Research for the next book,’ she cried. The fourth book is under construction and does indeed feature motorbikes.

 

You can buy DIVINE POISON from the following booksellers (but obvs you can get it at other awesome booksellers too!);

Amazon (UK) | Amazon | Book Depository | Waterstones

-S.

Be sure to check out the other blogs participating in this Blog Tour. See below for further details and be sure to follow all of the action across Twitter!

BLOG TOUR (2)

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s