#BlogTour | #BookReview | KULT by Stefan Malmström @kpstefan ( September 25th 2019 @BOTBSPublicity @silvertailbooks)

Thank you very much to Sarah @ Books On The Bright Side and Stefan Malmström for providing a copy of the book to [K]

The review below is 100% honest and all of her own views.

Blurb:

THE PAST WILL NEVER LET YOU GO…

When a four-year-old girl and her father are found dead in the Swedish city of Karlskrona, the police quickly conclude it was a murder-suicide, a tragedy requiring no further investigation.

But Luke Bergmann, a reformed criminal still haunted by his violent past, believes they are wrong. The dead man, Viktor, was his best friend, and Luke knows he would never commit such a horrific crime.

When more bodies turn up, Luke is certain the same killer has struck again. Alone, he embarks on an investigation which reaches back through decades to his friend’s involvement with a sinister cult and dark secrets are exposed as Luke struggles to keep his own long-buried demons hidden away.

And when Luke finds himself in a killer’s sights, his search for the truth becomes the fight of his life.

Can Luke get justice for Viktor and his daughter and prove his best friend was not a murderer, or will the shadows of the past overwhelm him?

Fans of The Killing, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Jo Nesbø and Will Dean will love this dark and gripping début thriller.


NOTE: KULT is inspired by shocking and tragic real events.

Review:

Wow what an adrenaline ride that was!

Set in present day Sweden Luke’s friend Viktor has been discovered after committing suicide, but not before he murdered his young child.
Refusing to believe this has happened Luke starts to investigate into his friends life, he uncovers things previously unknown to him about Viktor’s past.  When his investigations uncovers more bodies, did his friend really commit suicide after killing his child or is there a killer on the loose?

As the book progresses, we have flashbacks to a Scientology group and what life was like with first involvement and then further development into the church.

I found this a very cleverly written and insightful story that was based on real tragic and shocking events.

This was the first book by Stefan Malmström and I will definitely be looking out for his future work. 

[K]

Author Bio:
Stefan Malmström is a former news journalist who has worked for Sveriges Radio and Swedish TV4. Today he works as a consultant, lecturer and author. At a young age, Stefan was manipulated into the Church of Scientology in Hässleholm, a small town in southern Sweden. KULT, his first book, is based on his experiences in the cult. Stefan lives in Karlskrona in Sweden with his family.

You can buy Kult from the following booksellers (and obviously many more! Support your local booksellers where you can!)

Amazon (UK) | Amazon (US) | Amazon (AU)

3 thoughts on “#BlogTour | #BookReview | KULT by Stefan Malmström @kpstefan ( September 25th 2019 @BOTBSPublicity @silvertailbooks)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s