#LoveAudio #TeamOrenda | Six Stories by Matt Wesolowski @ConcreteKraken (March 15th, 2017 @OrendaBooks) @Annecater @audibleuk

Now, how on earth could I turn down the chance to share with you all the genius that is SIX STORIES? Not content with already sharing my review of the physical book, I also have my hands on the AUDIOBOOK!! Eight hours and eleven minutes of pure brilliance translated by a cast of eight narrators.

SIX-STORIES-VIS

What is this book you speak of? What is it about?

1997. Scarclaw Fell. The body of teenager Tom Jeffries is found at an outward bound centre. Verdict? Misadventure. But not everyone is convinced. And the truth of what happened in the beautiful but eerie fell is locked in the memories of the tight-knit group of friends who embarked on that fateful trip, and the flimsy testimony of those living nearby.

2017. Enter elusive investigative journalist Scott King, whose podcast examinations of complicated cases have rivalled the success of Serial, with his concealed identity making him a cult internet figure. In a series of six interviews, King attempts to work out how the dynamics of a group of idle teenagers conspired with the sinister legends surrounding the fell to result in Jeffries’ mysterious death. And who’s to blame…

As every interview unveils a new revelation, you’ll be forced to work out for yourself how Tom Jeffries died, and who is telling the truth. A chilling, unpredictable and startling thriller, Six Stories is also a classic murder mystery with a modern twist, and a devastating ending.


Thoughts?  

I loved this book. Like, REALLY loved this book. It’s one of those stories that you know will get picked up by a TV production company and when they film it on location, it will be gritty, dark and down right grim – but some of the best television you will ever witness.

With this in mind, I was more than keen to get my headphones in and listen to how SIX STORIES has been translated to audio books.

I think one of the reasons why I tend to shy away from audiobooks is that for the most part, it is one narrator covering all characters. I like to be able to differentiate between the characters and hear how that narrator puts their own spin on them.

Although I knew what was coming – that didn’t stop me getting fully invested into the story and I personally thought that the delivery of each of the narrators was pretty spot on. Listening to the narrator who voiced Harris, I couldn’t help but be reminded of a young Charlie Hunman (in his Queer as Folk days!) 🙂

SIX STORIES will always remain a stand out book for me due to it’s originality, concept and structure.  I’m sure Matt (Wesolowski) will start to see more books that follow this trend of using modern media, but we will always be making the comparison back to this little book that has gone from strength to strength!

Thank you so much to Matt Wesolowski, Anne Cater, Orenda Books and Audible UK for inviting me to part of #LoveAudio week. As a ‘noob’ to Audiobooks – there couldn’t have been a better place for me to start!

Be sure to check out more of the action as part of Love Audio Week in association with Audible on the following blogs;

audio book week poster(1)

 

I’m looking forward to sharing my thoughts soon on DEEP DOWN DEAD, which is one of the BEST books I have read so far in 2017! A kick ass female bounty-hunter who takes no prisoners when it comes to her daughter? It’s SOOO good!

-S.

 

 

 

One thought on “#LoveAudio #TeamOrenda | Six Stories by Matt Wesolowski @ConcreteKraken (March 15th, 2017 @OrendaBooks) @Annecater @audibleuk

  1. LizScanlon says:

    I agree- Six Stories is quite the unique masterpiece in its own. I can’t wait for Matt’s next book! Simply can’t wait…

    It’ll be interesting to read your review for Deep Down Dead- I read it a while back but I didn’t end up enjoying it as much… still, look forward to your thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

